top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Market bag

If your looking for an easy fun market bag to make this one fits the bill. It's super cute while functional for market or even beach bag. I had found an easy pattern for a long strap bag and made a few changes to make it short handled. (Pattern with long handles can be found here- Blogunity

I followed the directions until it came to the handle.  When I was finished with the sc along the top, I layed the bag flat on the table and counted 15 stitches in on each side placing stitch marker in 15th stitch on both left and right side  ( left and right side of bag and both front and back - so 4 total stitch markers) that's where the handle begins. I ended in the middle of the back of the bag while doing my sc ( how do I know which is the 'back'? Being you work in the round, when you start the "mesh like stitches' of dc it creates a step up .. see photo below to see what I'm talking about. 

I call that the back because of that. Anyway, I ended in middle of the back which lands in middle is where handled would go so I worked more single crochet around to the first stitch marker on the 'front', at that stitch marker I chained 25 and connected chain to the next stitch marked stitch- sc around to the next stitch marker and chain another 25 and connect to the last stitch marked stitch.. now sc around and when you get to your chains, sc in back loop of chain making a nice edge for your handle... I did 3 rows around of sc to create my handle, if you want a little thicker handle just add another row or two. I slip stitch and ended before coming to a handle so it blended in and couldn't even notice where it ended. Weave in ends and enjoy! Note- this pattern calls for 10 rows at beginning to create the bottom, if you would like a bit larger bottom for your bag, just add some extra rows until you get desired bottom size. As 10 rows is only about 3 - 4 inches  

Yarn I used was both by Red Heart - black and camouflage. 


Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page